End of the year! - Reisverslag uit Independence, Verenigde Staten van Anne Böhm - WaarBenJij.nu End of the year! - Reisverslag uit Independence, Verenigde Staten van Anne Böhm - WaarBenJij.nu

End of the year!

Door: anne

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Anne

13 Juni 2011 | Verenigde Staten, Independence

What and if are two words as non-threatening as words can be. But put them together side-by-side and they have the power to wound you for the rest of your life.
What if….what if……what if…….??
I don’t know how my life would be without this year but I’m glad I had the chance and took the chance to do it.

It’s hard to believe that around this time last year I had idea where Independence, Missouri was-let alone how much I would love living here. In fact when I received my AFS call with the news that I was places at Fort Osage in Independence, Missouri, the first thing I did was Google it. I found out that Missouri was in the middle of the USA. People called it ‘‘the middle of nowhere.’’ Needles to say, spending a whole year in ‘’the middle of nowhere’’ wasn’t exactly what I had in mind when I signed up for my great American adventure. But I was of course still excited about going. I made contact with the family and I used Google a lot to get to know something about Independence but also about my high school, Fort Osage.

Before my first day at Fort Osage everything I knew about going to high school in the United States could be summed up in three words: HIGH SCHOOL MUSICAL. I recognized thing like classrooms, lockers, lunchroom and lunch ladies. But thankfully that is where the similarities stopped! No singing and dancing all over the school. And instead of cliques of nerds, computer freaks, jocks and cheerleaders I became friends with all kinds of people.

At basketball- and Football games and of course the prep assemblies I felt that the whole school was united and everybody was proud to be an INDIAN. I wish we had that in the Netherlands.

We might not have near as many choices in classes in the Netherlands as the students in the United States but because we have all the serious and boring classes put together in a perfect school system we are far ahead in education and trust me that is something to be proud of!

But school wasn’t the only thing that happened this year. Participating in the AFS study abroad program has been the best decision I have ever made, but it would not be possible without everybody involved in the AFS program- especially the host families. Hosting an AFS student is honestly one of the greatest gifts you can give.

I was a little prepared for school, thanks to Disney, but living in a host family was something new. I have learned that even if you are not blood related and don’t know each other that long you become a part of the family faster than you can imagine. As long as you open you heart for new people and be willing to face changes and challenges. But also step out of the world where you have been living in for the past 16 years.

After a year being away from everything that’s so normal to you and sometimes boring, you appreciate it a thousand times more. You also find yourself and grow more than anybody of your age would do in the same amount of time but still in his/her own family and country.

Like I mentioned before, one year a go I could not even locate Independence, Missouri on a map. But now that my year here is over- even though I’m not ready to leave. I will return to The Netherlands as an graduate form American high school, an Indian and proud to call Independence, Missouri my second home.
Everything and everybody in Independence, Missouri has helped me change and grow. And I found out that it doesn’t matter where you are, you will have an amazing experience. Even in ‘’the middle of nowhere.

Thanks to my Amazing host family. I am proud to call my self a part of the family!

Last but surely not least! My (natural) family has supported me in all kind of ways! THANK YOU SO MUCH!!!!!
But of course i want to thank everybody for ready my stories and commenting on it! I loved it to see that people really liked to read my stories every time!!

THANKS to EVERYBODY!
and i'll see you in 2 weeks!

  • 14 Juni 2011 - 03:50

    Naturel Daddy:

    Je American dream is werkelijkheid geworden!!!
    Blij te lezen dat je ondanks ook de nodige tegenslagen zo kan terugkijken op dit jaar. Dat is mede te danken aan je positieve instelling en doorzettings vermogen en vrolijke karakter.

    Klasse !!!!!

    Geniet van je laatste weken en vooral van de reis naar Houston.


  • 14 Juni 2011 - 04:47

    Me To NaturAl Daddy:

    ik luister elke dag naar alfred j. kwak - ik ben vandaag zo vrolijk. om in te vrolijke bui te komen. hahahaha

    see ya in 2 weeks! Love You

  • 14 Juni 2011 - 07:34

    Henny En Arjan:

    Heerlijk om te lezen dat je zo'n geweldig jaar hebt gehad. Geniet van de laatste weken. Sterkte met afscheid nemen. We kijken er naar uit om je terug te zien. Kus van ons.

  • 14 Juni 2011 - 09:48

    Willie:

    Hoi Anne,

    Nog even heerlijk genieten en terug kijken op alles wat je in die 10 maanden mee gemaakt hebt, niemand die dat van je kan afpakken !
    En dan..... mogen wij in Holland weer van je gaan genieten.
    Nou tot HEEL GAUW Anne.
    Dikke kus, Willie.

  • 14 Juni 2011 - 11:36

    Gith:

    mooie woorden :)

  • 14 Juni 2011 - 13:00

    Eva:

    Wouw, mooi geschreven!

  • 14 Juni 2011 - 17:53

    Herma En Hans:

    Dat heb je mooi gezegd, Anne!
    Geniet maar extra van de laatste weken en straks begint hier weer een nieuw avontuur!
    Tot ziens.

  • 14 Juni 2011 - 21:55

    Lisette De Jong:

    I toally agree with you!
    Even in the middle of nowhere or in a hippie town where i am it can be amazing! :D

  • 16 Juni 2011 - 19:04

    Gemma:

    Geweldig mooi verwoord. Wat ben jij enorm gegroeid in de afgelopen 10 maanden. Ik ben trots op je en zie er naar uit je gewoon weer lekker tegen te komen. Tot gauw.

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Verenigde Staten, Independence

High school in Amerika!!

Recente Reisverslagen:

13 Juni 2011

End of the year!

22 Mei 2011

The End is coming...

08 Mei 2011

PROM! :)

13 April 2011

operatie!!:)

28 Maart 2011

Big SMILE!
Anne

Actief sinds 20 Juni 2010
Verslag gelezen: 621
Totaal aantal bezoekers 40683

Voorgaande reizen:

02 Maart 2016 - 01 Juni 2016

Back to where it all started and more...

21 Juli 2013 - 26 Augustus 2013

Het land van de Glimlach

12 Augustus 2010 - 29 Juni 2011

High school in Amerika!!

Landen bezocht: